Skip to content

Winners of the 86th Academy Awards

March 3, 2014

By John Corrado

The Oscars 2014 PosterThe winners of the 86th Academy Awards were announced this evening, hosted by Ellen DeGeneres.  The big winner of the night was Gravity, a stunning achievement honoured with a grand total of seven Oscars, including Best Director for Alfonso Cuarón.  Best Picture went to Steve McQueen’s incredibly powerful 12 Years a Slave, which also picked up Best Adapted Screenplay.  Deserving winners were crowned throughout the night, and I would like to offer my congratulations to everyone behind these excellent films.

Matthew McConaughey won Best Actor for his remarkable performance in Dallas Buyers Club, and Cate Blanchett took Best Actress for her brilliant work in Blue Jasmine.  Best Supporting Actor went to Jared Leto for his mesmerizing role in Dallas Buyers Club, and Lupita Nyong’o won Best Supporting Actress for her heartbreaking turn in 12 Years a Slave.  Best Animated Film rightfully went to Disney’s blockbuster hit Frozen, and the trophy for Best Documentary went to the moving and inspirational 20 Feet From Stardom.  Spike Jonze took home Best Original Screenplay for his beautifully written Her.

I tweeted throughout the show, and found myself genuinely happy with the way things turned out, frequently amused by Ellen DeGeneres and left impressed by many of the acceptance speeches.  But it’s been a long night, and you can come back tomorrow for my full thoughts on everything that happened this evening.  Please see below for a complete list of nominees in all of the 24 categories listed in the order they were announced, with the winners highlighted in bold.

Best Supporting Actor

Barkhad Abdi – Captain Phillips

Bradley Cooper – American Hustle

Micahel Fassbender – 12 Years A Slave

Jonah Hill – The Wolf of Wall Street

Jared Leto – Dallas Buyers Club

Best Costume Design

American Hustle

The Grandmaster

The Great Gatsby

The Invisible Woman

12 Years A Slave

Best Makeup And Hairstyling

Dallas Buyers Club

Jackass Presents: Bad Grandpa

The Lone Ranger

Best Animated Short


Get A Horse!

Mr. Hublot


Room On The Broom

Best Animated Feature

The Croods

Despicable Me 2

Ernest & Celestine


The Wind Rises

Best Visual Effects


The Hobbit: Desolation Of Smaug

Iron Man 3

The Lone Ranger

Star Trek Into Darkness

Best Live Action Short

Aquel No Era Yo

Avant Que De Tout Perdre


Pitaako Mun Kaikki Hoitaa?

The Voorman Problem

Best Documentary Short


Facing Fear

Karama Has No Walls

The Lady In Number 6: Music Saved My Life

Prison Terminal: The Last Days Of Private Jack Hall

Best Documentary Feature

The Act Of Killing

Cutie And The Boxer

Dirty Wars

The Square

20 Feet From Stardom

Best Foreign Language Film

The Broken Circle Breakdown

The Great Beauty

The Hunt

The Missing Picture


Best Sound Mixing

Captain Phillips


The Hobbit: Desolation Of Smaug

Inside Llewyn Davis

Lone Survivor

Best Sound Editing

All is Lost

Captain Phillips


The Hobbit: Desolation Of Smaug

Lone Survivor

Best Supporting Actress

Sally Hawkins – Blue Jasmine

Jennifer Lawrence – American Hustle

Lupita Nyong’o – 12 Years A Slave

Julia Roberts – August: Osage County

June Squibb – Nebraska

Best Cinematography

The Grandmaster


Inside Llewyn Davis



Best Editing

American Hustle

Captain Phillips

Dallas Buyers Club


12 Years A Slave

Best Production Design

American Hustle


The Great Gatsby


12 Years A Slave

Best Score

John Williams – The Book Thief

Steven Price – Gravity

William Butler and Owen Pallett – Her

Alexandre Desplat – Philomena

Thomas Newman – Saving Mr. Banks

Best Original Song

“Happy” – Despicable Me 2

“Let It Go” – Frozen

“The Moon Song” – Her

“Ordinary Love” – Mandela: Long Walk To Freedom

Best Adapted Screenplay

Before Midnight (Richard Linklater, Julie Delpy & Ethan Hawke)

Captain Phillips (Billy Ray)

Philomena (Steve Coogan & Jeff Pope)

12 Years A Slave (John Ridley)

The Wolf of Wall Street (Terrence Winter)

Best Original Screenplay

American Hustle (Eric Warren Singer & David O. Russell)

Blue Jasmine (Woody Allen)

Dallas Buyers Club (Craig Borten & Melisa Wallack)

Her (Spike Jonze)

Nebraska (Bob Nelson)

Best Director

David O. Russell – American Hustle

Alfonso Cuarón – Gravity

Alexander Payne – Nebraska

Steve McQueen – 12 Years A Slave

Martin Scorsese – The Wolf of Wall Street

Best Actress

Amy Adams – American Hustle

Cate Blanchett – Blue Jasmine

Sandra Bullock – Gravity

Judi Dench – Philomena

Meryl Streep – August: Osage County

Best Actor

Christian Bale – American Hustle

Bruce Dern – Nebraska

Leonardo Dicaprio – The Wolf of Wall Street

Chiwetel Ejiofor – 12 Years A Slave

Matthew McConaughey – Dallas Buyers Club

Best Picture

American Hustle

Captain Phillips

Dallas Buyers Club





12 Years A Slave

The Wolf of Wall Street

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: