Skip to content

Blu-ray Review: Sonic the Hedgehog: Limited Collector’s Edition

November 24, 2020

By John Corrado

The video game adaptation Sonic the Hedgehog feels like one of those movies that keeps popping back up. To recap, it was initially supposed to be released in theatres last November, before public outcry over the look of Sonic in the trailer led the studio to delay it by several months to change the design of the character.

It was finally released in theatres in February of this year, only to have its run cut short a month later when COVID-19 forced cinemas to shut their doors, sending it to an early digital release. The film was released on Blu-ray back in May, and now Paramount is reissuing it again on Blu-ray in a new Limited Collector’s Edition.

What’s different or special about this new edition, you might ask? Well, as it turns out, not that much. This release simply updates the cover art for a solo image of Sonic against a yellow background, and swaps out the physical comic book that the first release shipped with for a set of four double sided cardstock mini-posters, about the size and weight of postcards, that are tucked into the case.

Any prospective buyers should know that literally everything else about this new release remains the same as before, so I guess whether or not you think it’s worth double dipping all depends on how much of a collector you are. The film itself remains an amusing and slightly better than expected family action comedy, and you can read my full thoughts on it in my original review here.

Bonus Features (Blu-ray):

The set also comes with a regular DVD and digital copy of the film, as well as the exact same bonuses that were included on the original Blu-ray release, which I reviewed here. They are as follows.

Commentary by director Jeff Fowler and the voice of Sonic, Ben Schwartz

Around the World in 80 Seconds (1 minute, 48 seconds)

Deleted Scenes (13 minutes, 23 seconds)

Introduction by Director Jeff Fowler (28 seconds)

Original Opening (3 minutes, 32 seconds)

Super Observant Carl (2 minutes, 29 seconds)

Baby Sonic (3 minutes, 46 seconds)

Tom and Sonic Have a Chat (1 minute, 44 seconds)

Rachel and Wade Plan a Date (1 minute, 22 seconds)

Blooper Reel (2 minutes, 13 seconds)

“Speed Me Up” Music Video featuring Wiz Khalifa, Ty Dolla $ign, Lil Yachty and Sueco the Child (3 minutes, 43 seconds)

For the Love of Sonic (4 minutes, 0 seconds)

Building Robotinik With Jim Carrey (4 minutes, 2 seconds)

The Blue Blur: Origins of Sonic (6 minutes, 21 seconds)

Sonic On Set (3 minutes, 27 seconds)

Sonic the Hedgehog: Limited Collector’s Edition is a Paramount Home Entertainment release. It’s 98 minutes and rated PG.

Street Date: November 24th, 2020

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: